U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration


eSubscribe Envelope

FHWA Home / Safety / National Roadway Safety Awards

2015 National Roadway Safety Awards – Call for Nominations – Deadline May 15, 2015

Jointly sponsored by the Federal Highway Administration and the Roadway Safety Foundation


Downloadable Versions
PDF Version of Information Package [285 KB]
PDF Version of Application Form [142 KB]


The National Roadway Safety Awards is a biennial competition sponsored by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Roadway Safety Foundation (RSF) to recognize roadway safety achievements that move the United States towards zero deaths and serious injuries on the Nation's roadways. The competition acknowledges successful engineering solutions that agencies have integrated into their roadway safety programs. Awards are given in two categories: Infrastructure and Operational Improvements; and Program Planning, Development, and Evaluation. Selected projects are included in a noteworthy practices guide so they can be replicated nationwide.

The FHWA and the RSF stress the importance of strategic, data–driven approaches to improving highway safety. Applicants are encouraged to nominate projects or programs that exemplify innovative and effective safety activities and maximize the cost effectiveness of Federal, State, local, and/or private sector funds.

Benefits of Being a National Roadway Safety Award Winner

Award winners will receive:

Award Criteria

State, local, and tribal governments; planning organizations; regional councils; LTAPs; TTAPs; and universities may apply and be considered for a National Roadway Safety Award. Each entry will be judged among other nominations in its category. A nominated project or program must demonstrate evidence of data–supported results, including documentation supporting the project's or program's success. Applicants are encouraged to review the application form as they consider submitting a project or program for an award. Projects in both award categories will be judged on the following criteria:

Effectiveness. Projects or programs that:

Innovation. Projects or programs that use innovative concepts at a national, state, or local level including:

Efficient Use of Resources. Projects or programs that:

Deadline for receipt of nominations is May 15, 2015

"Apply! This is a great opportunity to share highway safety. Every life counts. The application process does take a bit of work, but it is definitely worth it. The recognition our agency received was fantastic. Not to mention the time I spent in Washington, DC and getting to know all the other award winners!"

Brent Jennings, Highway Safety Manager
Idaho Transportation Department

Award Categories

Infrastructure and Operational Improvements

This category is defined as infrastructure or operational improvements to the roadway or roadside that improve safety. Following are examples of projects that have been selected for an award.

Program Planning, Development, and Evaluation

This category is defined as programs that identify and address State and local needs by making effective use of safety data and evaluations as well as tools and applications such as the Highway Safety Manual and Safety Analyst. Following are examples of winning projects.

Federal Highway Administration

FHWA is an agency within the U.S. Department of Transportation that supports State and local governments in the design, construction, and maintenance of the Nation's highway system and various federally and tribal owned lands. Through financial and technical assistance to State and local governments, we are responsible for ensuring that America's roads and highways continue to be among the safest and most technologically sound in the world.

U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590


Tara McLoughlin

The Roadway Safety Foundation

RSF is the only national organization solely dedicated to reducing deaths by improving the physical characteristics of America's roadways – design and engineering, operating conditions, removal of roadside hazards, and the effective use of safety features. RSF works to attain its goals by building awareness through media campaigns and outreach activities, developing educational materials, and forming roadway safety partnerships between the private and public sectors. It is a private, non-profit 501(c)(3) organization chartered by the American Highway Users Alliance.

The Roadway Safety Foundation is moving! Effective May 1, 2015, their new address will be:

Roadway Safety Foundation
1920 L Street NW, Suite 525
Washington, DC 20036-012


Greg Cohen

Page last modified on February 10, 2015.
Safe Roads for a Safer Future - Investment in roadway safety saves lives
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000