2013 National Roadway Safety Awards


States, Local Governments, and Private Sector Organizations from Across the Country Receive Awards

Download the Printable Version [PDF, 36 KB]
You will need the Adobe Acrobat Reader to view this PDF.


November 6, 2013

CONTACT: Cathy Gillen
desk (202) 857-1203
cell (443) 463-4449

FHWA logo.    Roadway Safety Foundation logo.

WASHINGTON, D.C. – At a Capitol Hill awards ceremony, the Roadway Safety Foundation (RSF) and the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) today recognized 12 exemplary highway projects and programs from across the country as winners of the biennial National Roadway Safety Awards. Recipients of awards included State and local departments of transportation, a State department of public safety, university programs, and a private firm. The award winners are credited for reducing fatalities and injuries on our Nation's roadways through excellence and innovation in operations, planning, and design.

"All government levels are making effective use of shrinking budgets," said Federal Highway Administrator Victor Mendez. "The National Roadway Safety Awards winners developed innovative ideas to design, build and maintain roads that are safer and provide greater mobility for all Americans."

"Many people don't realize that deficiencies in the roadway environment contribute to roughly one-third of all traffic deaths," said Greg Cohen, Executive Director of the Roadway Safety Foundation. "The nation's safety professionals who plan, engineer, and implement innovative solutions to correct these deficiencies work tirelessly every day but receive little public recognition. That's why we're very proud today to recognize their efforts to help make America's roads as safe as they can be for all who use them."

National Roadway Safety Award recipients were evaluated on three criteria – innovation, effectiveness, and efficient use of resources. Program categories included infrastructure improvements, operational improvements, and program planning, development, and evaluation.

This year's honorees include:

  • Connecticut Department of Transportation for proactively converting a rotary to a roundabout, resulting in a 50% reduction in the number of crashes at that site.
  • Cornell Local Roads Program (NY) for developing inspection kits to improve rural sign safety.
  • Genesee County, MI Road Commission for its proactive Safety Improvement Plan for County Roads.
  • Idaho Transportation Department for its Highway Safety Corridor Analysis Project.
  • Idaho Transportation Department for its use of innovative technology in developing a Winter Performance Measure System.
  • Interstate Road Management, Inc., a wholly-owned company of DBi Services, for a Kentucky roads project.
  • Mobile County, AL Engineer's Office for its efforts to decrease "run-off-the-road" crashes on 10 roadways.
  • Rutgers' Center for Advanced Infrastructure and Transportation (NJ) for their free road safety audit program.
  • South Central Planning & Development Commission (LA) for its proactive data-driven action plan, the South Central Regional Transportation Safety Plan.
  • Tennessee Department of Transportation for its efforts to improve safety at dangerous intersections by implementing new J-Turn designs.
  • Washington State Patrol and the Washington State Department of Transportation for their joint project developing an infrared commercial truck brake screening system.
  • (Honorable Mention) Safe Roads Alliance (MA) for its efforts to educate parents about teen driving laws and keeping their teens safe on the road.

The Federal Highway Administration and the Roadway Safety Foundation present these biennial awards to agencies and organizations across the country that exhibit excellence in roadway design, operations, planning, and safety.

For additional information on RSF, please visit www.roadwaysafety.org; on Facebook at www.Facebook.com/roadwaysafetyfoundation; and on Twitter at @roadway_safety, #RoadwaySafetyAwards.

For additional information on FHWA safety programs, please visit http://safety.fhwa.dot.gov; on Facebook at www.Facebook.com/pages/Federal-Highway-Administration; and on Twitter at @USDOTFHWA, #RoadwaySafetyAwards.

# # #

ATTENTION EDITORS – Digital photographs of the award winners at the luncheon in Washington, DC will be available. Detailed information on the award winning programs can be found at www.roadwaysafety.org.

Return to top


New Safety Compass Newsletter – Fall 2014
(Vol 8, Issue 2)

New Pedestrian Forum – Fall 2014

New Manual for Selecting Safety Treatments on High Risk Rural Roads

New Bicycle Safer Journey (Revised 2014)

NEW Saving Lives Together: The Highway Safety and EMS Connection

New Pedestrian Hybrid Beacon Guide

New 2013 National Roadway Safety Award Winners

New Signalized Intersections: An Informational Guide

New Guidance memorandum on the Roadside Design Guide – 4th Edition

Bicycle Road Safety Audit Guidelines and Prompt Lists

Web-based HSIP Courses
Five new web-based courses related to the HSIP are available from the National Highway Institute

Proven Safety Countermeasures

HSM Managers Guide

Integrating Road Safety into NEPA Analysis: A Primer for Safety and Environmental Professionals:
    • Brochure
    • Report

Procedures for Setting Advisory Speeds on Curves

HSM Training Guide

FHWA is introducing the HSM case study series that highlights noteworthy implementation of HSM methodology.

Guidance Memorandum on Fundamental Roadway and Traffic Data Elements to Improve the Highway Safety Improvement Program

Background Report: Guidance for Roadway Safety Data to Support the Highway Safety Improvement Program

Market Analysis of Collecting Fundamental Roadway Data Elements to Support the Highway Safety Improvement Program

MIRE Report, Ver. 1.0

2010 Transparency Reports (5 Percent)

Pedestrian Safety Strategic Plan

Safety Edge Toolkit

FHWA Nine Proven Crash Countermeasures – Addressing Critical Safety Concerns

SHSP Implementation Process Model Interactive CD

P2P – Integrating Local Planning Organizations into a State HSIP

Press Releases

U.S. Transportation Secretary LaHood Announces Lowest Traffic Fatalities in Six Decades more...

Read more FHWA press releases