U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Skip to content
Facebook iconYouTube iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedInInstagram


FHWA Home / Safety / National Roadway Safety Awards

2015 National Roadway Safety Awards

Download the Printable Version [PDF, 357 KB]

The Roadway Safety Foundation and Federal Highway Administration logos.


November 16, 2015

CONTACT: Cathy Gillen
cell (443) 463-4449


WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today on Capitol Hill, the Roadway Safety Foundation (RSF) and the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) honored 10 exemplary highway safety projects and programs from across the country with National Roadway Safety Awards.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, motor vehicle crashes are a leading cause of death with more than 33,000 fatalities and 2.3 million injuries each year. These prestigious award winners are credited for the development of innovative, lifesaving safety programs to help lessen the toll of highway fatalities and injuries on our Nation's roadways through excellence and innovation in operations, planning, and design improvements.

"The roadway safety innovations that we recognize here today address key obstacles facing our country as we look to modernize our transportation infrastructure," said U.S. Transportation Deputy Secretary Victor Mendez. "I commend all of today's winners for their efforts to enhance safety and save lives on our nation's roadways."

The National Roadway Safety Award recipients were evaluated on three criteria: 1) Effectiveness, 2) Innovation, and 3) Efficient Use of Resources. There were two award categories: 1) Infrastructure and Operational Improvements and 2) Program Planning, Development, and Evaluation.

"The innovative highway safety projects honored today are vital because deficiencies in the roadway environment contribute to nearly one-third of all traffic deaths," said Roadway Safety Foundation Executive Director Gregory M. Cohen. "The National Roadway Safety Awards are an opportunity to recognize the unsung heroes who plan, engineer and implement creative measures to help save lives on a daily basis and rarely receive credit for doing so."

The following are the 2015 National Roadway Safety Award Honorees:

This year's Blue Ribbon Panel Judges included: Gregory M. Cohen, executive director, Roadway Safety Foundation; King W. Gee, director of engineering and technical services, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials; Mike Griffith, director, Office of Safety Technologies, FHWA Office of Safety, Federal Highway Administration (FHWA); Peter Kissinger, president & CEO, AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety; Bernardo Kleiner, senior program officer and transportation safety specialist, Transportation Research Board; Jennifer Smith, director, Image and Brands, Michelin; Marie B. Walsh, PhD, director, Louisiana Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP); Terecia Wilson, senior fellow, Clemson University Institute for Global Road Safety and Security.

For complete details on each of the winners, and for more information on the national awards program, visit http://www.safety.fhwa.dot.gov/roadwaysafetyawards/.

# # #

Page last modified on November 13, 2015
Safe Roads for a Safer Future - Investment in roadway safety saves lives
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000